New Music at the Library Part II

I usually like to go to the new section of the music CDs in the library to see what new bands and singers are trending and what’s popular these days. On my last venture into the 2 drawers of the new music I found 3 CDS that intrigued me and I though they deserved some spotlight on them. I decided to take them out and review them for this blog. I chose 2 or 3 top tracks from each CD and I’ll tell you why and what I thought of the albums. Here are some thoughts about the second CD I listened to:

Days-of-GoldThe second CD I chose to review was Days of Gold by Jake Owens. It’s a one disc CD with twelve tracks and is his fourth studio album. He fits just perfectly with others artists in his genre of country pop/ rock. Listening to his music reminds me of summer barbeques and parties. His songs are a blend between upbeat dance songs revolving around drinking and slow ballads about love or breaking up. As I’ve stated before, I’m not a big country fan but his album blends enough of pop and rock music that I find it enjoyable. It doesn’t hurt that he does have a talented voice. One of my top three tracks on this album is the title track Days of Gold which is also the first track. It is a good song, with an upbeat tempo, to drive around to on a nice day, windows down. It’s a mix of country and rock, with a somewhat heavy emphasis on guitars. It’s a toe tapping sing-along song that makes you want to get up and dance. Listeners will find the lyrics entertaining and reminiscent of all the good times of summer. Another top track is Life of the Party which is track 5 on the CD. It’s about a love lost and how the guy handles it. It’s a break from Owen’s party anthems and songs about love. The accompanying music is soft and simple in contrast with the lyrics. The lyrics are a bit heart breaking since you do become sympathetic towards the singer. Everyone, at least once in their life, has had to face the questions and looks of “where’s your significant other?” after a break up, when you feel alone despite having people around you, and just grin and bear it because you don’t want to face the music. My last recommended track is (We All Want) What We Ain’t Got, track 9. It’s a stunning emotional power ballad that really does showcase Jake Owen’s vocal capabilities. I would give this album 3 out of 5 stars, as country is not my preferred taste but it’s a fun album to give a listen to, particularly with summer right around the corner. According to iTunes his top two singles are “Days of Gold” and “Beachin” and his CD is rated 4 ½ stars out of 5. If you’ve listened to Dierks Bentley and Jason Aldean (we have CDs of both artists at the library) you will like Jake Owen as they are similar. To find more similar artists you can visit Jake Owen’s page on last.fm.

Watch for my third and last review of a CD from our new music collection.

– posted by Stacey, Readers’ Services

Leave a Reply

