New Music at the Library

I usually like to go to the new section of the music CDs in the library to see what new bands and singers are trending and what’s popular these days. On my last venture into the 2 drawers of the new music I found 3 CDS that intrigued me and I though they deserved some spotlight on them. I decided to take them out and review them for this blog. I chose 2 or 3 top tracks from each CD and I’ll tell you why and what I thought of the albums.

one republicThe first album I chose to listen to and review was Native by OneRepublic. It’s considered an alternative rock album. This was an obvious choice for me since I am a fan of theirs since their first album, Dream Out Loud. This is their third studio album, its one disc with a total of twelve songs. My top tracks are Counting Stars , I Lived and If I Lose Myself . It was hard for me to choose only three tracks since I think the group is amazing and Ryan Tedder’s voice is so talented and a pleasure to listen to. The reason I chose Counting Stars, the first track, is because of the upbeat and catchy tempo of the song. I also enjoy the lyrics and the messages within them. Enjoying life isn’t about becoming the wealthiest person, and money doesn’t always solve life’s problems are just two of the messages I took away from the song. I chose I Lived as my second top track. It’s the fifth song on the album and like Counting Stars, it’s an uplifting song. It’s a song about living life to the fullest and enjoying everything. It’s a great song to listen to when feeling a little blue and the harmonizing during the song is nice to listen to. My third top track is If I Lose Myself, which is the second track on the album. Unlike my other top tracks, this one is a bit slower but still has notes of being an uplifting song. Particularly with the lyrics at the end “Take us down and we keep trying, forty thousand feet, keep flying.” In an interview lead singer Tedder mentioned the song is about his fear of flying and going down in an airplane, and the comfort of how you aren’t alone and someone else is experiencing everything you are.

Overall I would give this album 10 out of 5 because it is just that good. With each new studio album their talent rises and evolves into something amazing.  Native is filled with beautiful and moving music, with powerful lyrics. I would list the entire album as top tracks of mine, as each song is catchy, beautiful, and over all great to listen to. The musical accompaniment is really on point and the vocals are strong, Ryan Tedder hits higher notes and seems to have more range than past albums. iTunes and Amazon both give Native 4 ½ out of 5 stars. From reading other reviews a few people were a little disappointed they are moving away from their traditional piano alternative rock genre and are branching out and playing with new sounds and sounding more vibrant and electropop. Other artists similar to OneRepublic according to last.fm are Imagine Dragons, The Script, Maroon 5, and Coldplay. You can find more similar listens on the last.fm website. The library does have CDs of the bands listed above, as well as plenty of CDs that they are featured on, like the “Now That’s What I Call Music” collections or movie soundtracks.

Watch for my reviews of two more CDs from our new music collection next week.

– posted by Stacey, Readers’ Services

Leave a Reply

