About Our Reading – 2013 #5

about our reading 2013 3

In December I asked our staff if they wouldn’t mind answering some questions about the books they read in 2013. We’ll be sharing their responses to various questions here on this blog, a few every day.  So keep coming back to find out how our reading went in 2013.

Was there a book you read in 2013 that you were looking forward to and were disappointed by?

not so greatBurnt Offerings by Laurell K. Hamilton – Stacey, Readers’ Services Librarian

Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson – I really wanted to love this one based on the blurb, but I just couldn’t get into it. I got about halfway through and while I enjoyed Carson’s writing style, the characters just never came alive for me. – Erica, Reference Librarian

There were two.  I had never read a book by Mary Higgins Clark until this year when I finally got around to it. I usually find that there is something that’s good about the writing of those ultra-popular authors  that will draw me in,  but I found Clark’s book unbearable and had to abandon it.  I won’t say which one.  And although I enjoyed it, The Rosie Project by  Graeme Simsion, did not live up to it’s pre-pub hype. – Sonia, Readers’ Services Librarian

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini – Neela, Head of Acquisitions and Jackie, Head of Readers’ Services

Bellman and Black by Diana Setterfield – Ed, Head of Reference Services

Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford – Audrey, Media Clerk

The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud – Evelyn, Readers’ Services Librarian

My American Revolution by Robert Sullivan – Brenda, Reference Librarian

The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls by Anton DiScalfani – Pam M., Head of Programming

Was there a book you read in 2013 that you were surprised that you liked so much?

kid with glasses readingSisterland by Curits Sittenfeld – Pam M., Head of Programming

The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic by Emily Croy Barker – Stacey, Readers’ Services Librarian

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – Pam S., Reference Librarian

Although I expected the book to be good, I never expected to enjoy The Cuckoo’s Calling as much as I did.  I know I will continue to read Galbraith/Rowling’s mystery series for as long as she continues to write them. – Sonia, Readers’ Services Librarian

Telling the Bees by Peggy Hesketh – Ed, Head of Reference Services

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.  I didn’t think it would live up to all the hype, but it did.  Glad I took the time to read it. – Jackie, Head of Readers’ Services

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra – Audrey, Media Clerk

Sycamore Row by John Grisham – Evelyn, Readers’ Services Librarian

Did you re-read any book in 2013?

rereadA Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines. An unbelievable book! – Jackie, Head of Readers’ Services

Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather – Brenda, Reference Librarian

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – Pam S., Reference Librarian

Fire Hawk by Justine Dare. Third in a trilogy that will likely be rereleased in e-form next year, this book is actually the first story chronologically, and the best one. A particular side character, the hero’s best friend, has had a place in my heart for years. There are rumors that his story will see print sometime next year as well. – Erica, Reference Librarian

Serpico by Peter Maas – Amy, Children’s Librarian

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie.  Just as good the second time around even though I knew whodunit! – Sonia, Readers’ Services Librarian

– posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services

Leave a Reply

