About Our Reading – 2013 #1

about our reading 2013 3Earlier this month I asked our staff if they wouldn’t mind answering some questions about the books they read in 2013. We’ll be sharing their responses to various questions here on this blog, a few every day.  So keep coming back to find out how our reading went this year.

Was there an author that kept you up reading late into the night?

child reading in bedThe Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriary- Evelyn, Readers’ Services Librarian & Jackie, Head of Readers’ Services

The Never List by Koethi Zan, The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook and The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic by Emily Croy Barker – Stacey, Readers’ Services Librarian

Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld – Pam M., Head of Programming

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor – Erica, Reference Librarian

Phantom by Jo Nesbo – Audrey, Media Clerk

The Witness Wore Red: The 19th Wife, Who Brought Polygamous Cult Leaders to Justice by Rebecca Musser with M. Bridget Cook – Neela, Head of Acquisitions

The Manor: Three Centuries at a Slave Plantation on Long Island by Mac K. Griswold – Brenda, Reference Librarian

Did you discover a new favorite author(s) in 2013?

fountain penIvy Pochoda – Ed, Head of Reference Services

Orson Scott Card, Nancy Thayer, Emily Croy Barker, Beatriz Williams and Jenny Colgan – Stacey, Readers’ Services Librarian

Liane Moriarty – Evelyn, Readers’ Services Librarian

I admit it; this year I mostly stuck to “comfort food” books. That said, my favorite authors didn’t disappoint with their latest books, so I’m fine with not having discovered anyone new! – Erica, Reference Services Librarian

Sarah Pekkanen for light women’s fiction and Jeff Abbott for suspense. – Jackie, Head of Readers’ Services

I read the first two titles in a new paranormal urban fantasy series by Philippa Bornikova, This Case is Gonna Kill Me and Box Office Poison and am eagerly awaiting the next installment. – Sonia, Readers’ Services Librarian

Edward Rutherford – Betty P., – Reference  Services Librarian

John Green, Pam S., – Reference  Services Librarian

2013-goalsDid you set yourself a reading goal in 2013 and did you achieve it?

I set a goal to read 100 books, I am proud to say I achieved it. – Stacey, Readers’ Services Librarian

Since I had a lot going on this year, I’m just glad I was able to make time for reading at all! – Erica, Reference Services Librarian

Yes, but I didn’t accomplish it. – Betty P., Reference Services Librarian

Yes and no: I wanted to read more books than I ever have in a year, which I did, but I fell short of the total number I had in mind. – Sonia, Readers’ Services Librarian

– posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services

Leave a Reply

