A Little Christmas in my Mystery, Please! #3

christmas mystery giftEvery year I promise myself to read some books that have a Christmas theme well before the holiday season so I can write about them in this blog.  And every year I manage to read one …maybe two.  This year I actually remembered to start reading early enough to write this series of  blog posts.  I chose to stick to my favorite genre which is mystery and read books by authors I had always wanted to try but never did. I’ve read four books so far, so there will be at least four posts, maybe more if there’s time.

The nice thing about holiday books is that they are usually short and always have happy, feel good endings. Some bad/sad things might happen along the way to the characters we grow to care about while reading (especially in the case of mysteries), but there are plenty of “warm fuzzies” to go around at the end.

Merry Christmas, Alex Cross by James Patterson

First Lines: The rear door to St. Anthony’s Church had been left open. Exactly as I had been promised.

merry christmas alex crossSummary:  “It’s Christmas Eve and Detective Alex Cross has been called out to catch someone who’s robbing his church’s poor box. That mission behind him, Alex returns home to celebrate with Bree, Nana, and his children. The tree decorating is barely underway before his phone rings again–a horrific hostage situation is quickly spiraling out of control. Away from his own family on the most precious of days, Alex calls upon every ounce of his training, creativity, and daring to save another family. Alex risks everything–and he may not make it back alive on this most sacred of family days.” (from the publisher)

My take: I have read three of Patterson’s books before. One in print and the others in audio form and enjoyed audiobooks much better, so I listened to Merry Christmas, Alex Cross and liked it. The story in this book involves Cross in two separate cases over Christmas Eve and Day which might have been overkill but overall the book was good.  I liked the characters, especially Cross’ grandmother, NanaMama. There were three different readers used which was also a plus and I will probably listen to more of Patterson’s books. Readers of James Patterson might not need any readalike recommendations because he’ s publishes enough books to keep them busy but they might try the books of Jeffery Deaver or Jonathan Kellerman.

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars.

– posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services

Leave a Reply

