A Little Christmas in my Mystery, Please! #1

christmas mystery giftEvery year I promise myself to read some books that have a Christmas theme well before the holiday season so I can write about them in this blog.  And every year I manage to read one …maybe two.  This year I actually remembered to start reading early enough to write this series of  blog posts.  I chose to stick to my favorite genre which is mystery and read books by authors I had always wanted to try but never did. I’ve read four books so far, so there will be at least four posts, maybe more if there’s time.

The nice thing about holiday books is that they are usually short and always have happy, feel good endings. Some bad/sad things might happen along the way to the characters we grow to care about while reading (especially in the case of mysteries), but there are plenty of “warm fuzzies” to go around at the end.

Mistletoe Murder by Leslie Meier

First Lines: “Do you have any sharp knives?” asked the tremulous voice.  “Something that will cut through bone and gristle?” Lucy Stone stifled a yawn, adjusted her headset,and typed the code for “knives” on the computer keyboard in front of her.

mistletoe murderSummary: “As if baking holiday cookies, knitting a sweater for her husband’s gift, and making her daughter’s angel costume for the church pageant weren’t enough things for Lucy Stone’s busy Christmas schedule, she’s also working nights at the famous mail-order company Country Cousins. But when she discovers Sam Miller, its very wealthy founder, dead in his car from an apparent suicide, the sleuth in her knows something just doesn’t smell right.” (from the publisher)

My take: Since I usually try to read the first book in a mystery series, when I saw that Meier’s first Lucy Stone was a Christmas mystery, well, that made my first choice easy.  I read this book on long train ride and it was just the thing.  Lucy Stone is the typical character you will find in a cozy mystery who manages to take care of her family and job as well as get involved with solving a murder.  She and the rest of the characters were likeable and more importantly: believable.  The plot was intriguing enough and the solution made sense.  Fans of Diane Mott Davidson or Joanna Fluke might want to try this series.

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars.

Next: Silent Night by Robert B. Parker with Nancy Brann

– posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services


Leave a Reply

