Goodreads 2012 Reading Challenge

goodreads-logoGoodreads, the social networking site for book lovers and book recommendations, issues a reading challenge every year.  For 2012 the challenge was to read 100 books by the end of the year. I think this is a great way to promote and encourage reading. There are at least 303,892 participants involved in this year’s challenge. The totally amount of books pledged to be read this year is 17,880,746. What a huge number!! Every time I update the page the number changes and becomes higher. woman-reading-a-book-solitary-According to the website and data from the challenge the average amount of books per challenge are 58. And so far there have been 8,116 challenges completed. I started the challenge around mid-January and have made it to 61% meaning I’ve read 61 books towards my goal of 100. I had hoped I’d be able to be the next one on the list of 8,116 challenges completed but I only made it a little more than halfway. Maybe next year I’ll reach it.

On the homepage when you sign in to your account there is a small update box towards the bottom of the homepage that updates with every book you’ve read since starting the challenge. Within the update box there is a progress tracker counter the percent you’ve completed so far and how behind you are. You can also see how other members in the Goodreads community are handling the challenge. Although everyone pledges to make their own challenge. I have friends who have pledged to read anywhere from 5-15 books for this year and not the original 100. According to my progress tracker I am 61% and at my current pace I am 38%, or 37 books, behind. It’s seems a little off because I am technically 39 books behind although by the end of this year, December 31st, I will have read 65 books. I am in the middle of reading Animal Farm by George Orwell, Salvage the Bones by Jessmyn Ward, Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares, 100% in 2013and Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella. I plan to finish those four by the end of this year. It’s now the last few days of December, I know I won’t be able to achieve my goal but I hope to be able to read 100 next year for the 2013 challenge.

– posted by Stacey, Librarian Trainee

One thought on “Goodreads 2012 Reading Challenge”

Leave a Reply

