Dandelion Wine

Do you have a summer ritual? Is it the first s’mores on the grill or flowers blooming in the garden or that day when the ocean water feels refreshing instead of bracing? Or is it making dandelion wine?

When I heard that Ray Bradbury died, I realized that I had been missing my ritual for the beginning of  summer. When I was young teenager, I had found a copy of his novel, Dandelion Wine, in my father’s bookcase.  I read it that summer and every summer for many years. It was my way to welcome summer.

If you only know Bradbury as a writer of science fiction and fantasy, this book will come as a delightful surprise. It is a coming-of age story. It is a nostalgic look at life in a small Midwest town in the early 20th century. It is a celebration of life.

No, I never made dandelion wine. But I just reread the book and found it as delightful as ever. You might enjoy it as you lounge on the beach, sit beneath a shady tree or even wait in the airport.

-posted by Brenda, Reference Services

Leave a Reply

