Another 5 Questions about Books…and some other things

Christine Belling, the Library’s Systems Manager, answers another 5 questions about books:

Do you have a favorite non-fiction book?

Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer.  This book is absolutely fascinating.  Perhaps ‘favorite’ is not the best way to describe this book.  It’s just that of all the non-fiction books I’ve read, this one has stayed with me.

What’s on your nightstand at the moment?

Alphaville: 1988, Crime, Punishment, and the Battle for New York City’s Lower East Side by Michael Codella.  I’m also reading Parenting, Inc.: How We Are Sold on $800 Strollers, Fetal Education, Baby Sign Language, Sleeping Coaches, Toddler Couture, and Diaper Wipe Warmers and What It Means For Our Children by Pamela Paul.

If you listen to audio books, how does the experience compare to reading books in print?

I have not listened to many audio books, but in my limited experience, it’s all about the narrator and how he or she brings the characters and the story to life.  I very much enjoyed the Harry Potter series – narrated by Jim Dale and The Measure of a Man : a Spiritual Autobiography – narrated by Sidney Poitier.

Do you have a “guilty” movie pleasure?

You bet.  I have lots of them.  Here’s my top five: Starship Troopers, Bring It On, The Cutting Edge, Clue, and Flash Gordon.

What’s on your DVR?

I have to admit I’m terribly behind on many shows, but I am happy to report I just recently got all caught up with my favorite new show, The Walking Dead.  Here’s what’s left on my DVR, 4 episodes of Glee, 3 episodes of Community, 2 episodes of The Event, 2 episodes of The Will, Super Troopers, and The Secret of NIMH.

– posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services

Leave a Reply

