5 Questions about Books

Christine Belling, the library’s Systems Administrator, answers some questions about books this week:

The book you are currently reading:

Actually, I’m in the process of reading two books.  The first, The Aqua Net Diaries : Big Hair, Big Dreams, Small Town by Jennifer Niven, is the author’s memoir of growing up and attending high school during the eighties. The second, Get Me Out : A History of Childbirth from the Garden of Eden to the Sperm Bank by Randi Hutter Epstein.  Since I’m pregnant I thought this might be an interesting read.

Last book read:

Wiseguy: Life in a Mafia Family by Nicholas Pileggi.  I could not put this book down.  It is Henry Hill’s story of his life in the mob and the basis for the movie Goodfellas.

Your favorite book of all time:

I have two favorites, The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien and Watership Down by Richard Adams.  This may be no surprise to anyone else out there who has read and enjoyed these titles.  I once read somewhere that readers who loved Lord of the Rings have a particular fondness for Watership Down.

Your favorite book genre:

I really enjoy non-fiction books.  A few years ago a friend recommended Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer.  The book was fascinating and ever since then I’ve had a strong preference for non-fiction.

Book you’ve faked reading:

Dances with Wolves by Michael Blake.  It was for a Native Americans on film course in college.  The assignment was to write a paper comparing the book to the movie.  Unfortunately, I could not locate a copy of the book anywhere – this was back in the days before online bookstores.  As the due date was drawing near my roommate, Pam, got a copy of the book and took notes for me while she read it.  In the end, with the help of Pam’s notes, I received a good grade for the paper.

Leave a Reply

