5 Questions about Books

Actually, Children’s Services librarian Jessikah Chautin has answered six of our questions about books!

On your nightstand now:

I’m pretty ambitious.  I read several books at a time in various reading levels.  Children’s, adults, graphic novels, YA.  Its often difficult to to this because I will be in one mind set then pick up another book and have to change my tone right away.  I also sometimes pick up other books and finish earlier ones months after starting them.

The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak, The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly, Fables Volume 3 by Bill Willingham, Promethea Volume 4 by Alan Moore and A Lion Among Men by Gregory Maguire.

Favorite book when you were a child:

All things Rudyard Kipling.

Favorite book read to you by your parent:

The Story of Ferdinand by Leaf Munro was a nightly read for me.

Book you’re an evangelist for:

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith.  I have an old edition of it at home and used to make all my friends read it.  Recently J.K. Rowling mentioned it was one of her favorite books growing up and they have reissued it.

Favorite line from a book:

WE KNOW THERE IS NO GOOD ORDER EXCEPT THAT WHICH WE CREATE… THERE IS NO HOPE BUT US. THERE IS NO MERCY BUT US. THERE IS NO JUSTICE. THERE IS JUST US. – Spoken by Death in Reaper Man By Terry Pratchet. This is actually a small section of a very powerful speech.

Book you’ve faked reading:

I didn’t so much FAKE reading it as I seriously skimmed it.  McTeague by Frank Norris.  It wasn’t a bad book, but my professor for the class I was reading it in, had made it a serious labor to get through.  I had seen the film version “Greed” in my film history class and had a general idea what was going on but  I really wish I had read this book under different circumstances.  I may have liked it, then again I may have simply skimmed it as well.

One thought on “5 Questions about Books”

  1. AVARICIA es la obra maestra del gran Erich von Stroheim. Una absoluta maravilla de película que ha servido de inspiración a otros muchos grandes directores de la historia del cine. Las ensoñaciones grotescas y groseras de Buñuel tienen su origen cuando McTeague duerme con éter a Trina y trata de violarla en su consulta de dentista, ¿no recuerda a una escena entre Fernando Rey y Silvia Pinal en Viridiana?, o la boda entre McTeague y Trina, interrumpida por un funeral, ¿no recuerda a La edad de oro con el carro de obreros muertos pasando por un salón señorial?; ¿acaso no recuerda a la violencia desgarrada de Sam Peckimpah en el final de Perros de paja cuando McTeague arranca los dedos a mordiscos a Trina para que le suelte unas monedas con las que seguir emborrachandose?; o el final en el valle de la muerte, ¿no recuerda a la escena final en el cementerio de El bueno, el feo y el malo de Sergio Leone, o a las rivalidades entre buscadores de oro de La quimera del oro de Chaplin, o al inicio de La balada de Cable Hogue de Sam Peckimpah?
    La sombra de Stroheim es muy alargada

Leave a Reply

