5 Questions about books

Our Teen Services Librarian, Sharon Long, answers “5 Questions about books”:

The book you are currently reading: Going Bovine by Libba Bray. This is a young adult book that is hard to explain because the premise sounds too crazy.  In a nutshell, a teenage boy named Cameron suffers from frequent wild hallucinations brought on by Bovine spongiform encephalopathy (Mad Cow Disease).  Despite his fatal prognosis, he escapes the hospital and sets out on a quest with his friend Gonzo, who happens to be a dwarf with hypochondria. Their wild journey follows the advice of a punk-angel named Dulcie and leads them from the Texas ‘burbs to the jazz clubs of New Orleans to an evangelical-bowling church compound in Florida.  There are references to Don Quixote and lots of teen angst mixed in as well.  I know what you’re thinking: another book on that?

Last book read: Last book I physically read was The Guinea Pig Diaries: My Life as an Experiment by A.J. Jacobs.  I was also listening to The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America by Erik Larson.

A favorite childhood book: From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler written and illustrated by E.L. Konigsburg.  I still want to sneak into the Metropolitan Museum of Art and have a sleepover there.

Book you most want to read again for the first time: This is going to sound weird, but I read Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell for the first time in 2nd grade.  Suffice to say, certain details and innuendos went over my head.  It’s not that I want to re-read it currently, because frankly my dear, I don’t have time, but I wish I had been a bit little older when I originally read it!

Book you feel you should read but haven’t yet: I’m a little behind on adult fiction best-sellers.  I usually catch up with those on audiobook in the car.  I’ve heard a lot of good things about Adriana Trigiani, and have been meaning to pick up something by her.

Leave a Reply

