A Question for today…

There are many movies and television shows that turn up every December: “A Charlie Brown Christmas”, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, and “A Christmas Carol” , just to name a few.

The list is endless- theatrical films, made for TV movies, TV specials that have been repeating for years and years.   I would love to watch them all but there’s not enough time, especially during the holiday season.

The tradition at my house is that no matter what else we do,  we try to make time to watch two movies, all together, every year at this time:

“White Christmas” with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye and “Scrooge” the musical version of “A Christmas Carol” starring Albert Finney.  My whole family knows these two movies by heart –  most of the lines and song lyrics.  In fact, they are so ingrained into our family’s culture that we reference these movies year round, as if they were “The Godfather”.  This tradition has become very important to me and it saddens me when, as has happened in some years lately, we don’t have the time to watch one of them.

Which brings me to today’s question: “Is there a movie or television show that you try to see every year at holiday time?”

Leave a comment and let “R and R” know!

~ posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services

4 thoughts on “A Question for today…”

  1. Every year my family watches “A Christmas Story.” We know all of the lines and it just plays on repeat, in the background, on Christmas day. I’ve seen it countless times but it still cracks me up!

    Another favorite is “It’s A Wonderful Life.” I make a point to watch this every year! It’s my all time favorite movie. It reminds all of us how important it is to be thankful for everything you have. 🙂

  2. I love the idea of tradition, but I don’t have one. Instead, each year, I try to catch a classic or popular movie that I haven’t seen yet — there are so many — so I can add a new one to my repertoire! This year, I saw the updated Miracle on 34th Street. (Last year, I saw the original!)

  3. I always try to watch The Santa Clause with Tim Allen and While You Were Sleeping with Sandra Bullock and Bill Pullman. These are “future classics”. A Wonderful Life is also a must, although I do protest.

Leave a Reply

