5 Questions about Books

This week “5 Questions” were answered by Jackie Ranaldo, Readers’ Services librarian.

On your nightstand now:

I am always reading and listening to more than one book at a time.  That seems to be the trend with many of us at the library.  Maybe it’s a “Librarian” thing …

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger (Contemporary Fiction/Ghost Story)

Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill (Historical Fiction)

Heartsick by Chelsea Cain (Mystery/Suspense)

I Love You Like a Tomato by Marie Giordano (Italian-American Fiction)

Favorite Childhood book:

Caps For Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina – A fantastic little children’s book about a peddler who carried large stacks of men’s caps to sell.  One day a monkey in a tree started stealing all his caps.  I used to love reading this book with my mother.  Most kids would point to the tree and try and tell the peddler about the monkey … not me … like a child watching Blues Clues, I used to think characters in books could hear me … I would never tell the peddler about the clever, little monkey …it was like our own little secret.

Favorite Author of All Time –

Would have to be a toss up between John Steinbeck and John  Cheever.

However, in terms of contemporary fiction, I am a huge Adriana Trigiani fan.

Book you feel you should read but haven’t yet  —

There are two that I know I should read but haven’t quite gotten to yet—

Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry

Favorite line from a book –

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view–until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.” ~ Atticus Finch character from To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

Interestingly enough, I strongly believe that is what reading is all about.  Books give the reader a unique opportunity to “climb inside someone else’s skin” and see the world from another point of view.  I believe great literature has an amazing opportunity to teach tolerance and compassion, simply by experiencing another’s story through words.

 

One thought on “5 Questions about Books”

  1. Great quote and you’re so right about how reading can lead to greater understanding and therefore greater tolerance of others. Thanks for reminding me of that.

Leave a Reply

