5 Questions about books

We here at the Syosset Public Library are very involved with books.  We read them for personal enjoyment and for our professional responsibilities.  We talk about them with patrons and with each other.  Most of us just plain love books.  And we want to share the love.  One way to do that is to let you in on a little bit of the “book lives” of the people who work here at the library through short 5 question interviews that will appear in this blog from time to time.  Our first interviewee will be me- Sonia Grgas, librarian trainee.

What’s on your nightstand now? Well, I like to keep several books going at once this way I always have something  I’m in the mood for.  Right now I’m reading:

The-Fiery-Cross-M4R861LThe Fiery Cross by Diana Gabaldon.

Rapt: Attention and the Focused Life by Winifred Gallagher.

Corn Flakes with John Lennon: and Other Tales from a Rock ‘n’ Roll Life by Robert Hilburn.

The Mighty Queens of Freeville: A Mother, a Daughter and the People Who Raised Them by Amy Dickinson.

Say Everything: How Blogging Began, What it ‘s Becoming, and Why it Matters by Scott Rosenberg.

Book you would most want to read again for the first time: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie. I can’t say why for those who have never read it.

spilt milkEarliest book you remember: It Looked Like Spilt Milk by Charles G. Shaw.  I was about 4 years old and I was at storytime at the local library in Queens.  The library was in a storefront and the late afternoon sun was pouring in through the window.  The fact that someone else realized that clouds could look like different things blew my mind!

jane eyreBook you feel you should have read but haven’t yet: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.   I love the movie (Joan Fontaine-Orson Welles version) and I’m afraid it might not be the same for me after I have read the book.

Beatles 17-57-43_3You like to read books about: I like to read about a lot of things but I always make a beeline for books about reading books and any book that is connected to the Beatles in any way.

-posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services

Leave a Reply

