My Summer Reading Project- Over!

summerreading-2 picSummer has ended and so has the reading project.  It was an interesting exercise and I have to admit in hindsight, much too ambitious.  To recap, I set myself the task of reading a book by each of the authors appearing in the top 20 of the NY Times bestseller list for June 21, 2009 (the first day of summer).  If I had previously read any of their books, I did not have to read another by them, which left me with  at least 11 books to read.

Piece of cake, no?  No.  I ended up finishing only 5 of the 7 books I attempted and the one I enjoyed most was by an author whose work I had already enjoyed many times.  That’s not to say I wasn’t reading much this summer, I just did not want to read those books and I kept putting them off.  The other books I read this summer were those that my own taste and curiosity gravitated towards.  I read them willingly and finished them quicker that those from the project that were not that great.  I believe that if I hadn’t been dragged down by these books, I would have read a bit more.

So, what did I learn? I learned that you should not try to force your recreational reading choices. We all have enough reading that we are required to do in order to keep up in our personal and professional lives.  When we have spare time to read for recreation, darn it, we want to read whatever we want.  And come next summer that’s exactly what I will be doing!

I haven’t shared my thoughts on The Strain by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan.  The book is a thriller about a viral attack on NYC.  It’s a virus that spreads very quickly and turns its victims into vampires – vampires such as we’ve never seen before.  Although I found it to be a little too long and repetitive, I might read the next installment of the planned trilogy just to see what happens next.  Rating: 3 out of 4.

(Read my previous summer reading project posts here.)

-posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services

2 thoughts on “My Summer Reading Project- Over!”

  1. I am impressed you tried to introduce so many new authors in one summer. But I agree, once you have a comfortable niche in fiction, it’s hard to change gears.

    1. I usually do read new authors regularly, anyway, it was that the writing styles of most of the books were in the “been there, done that” vein: I really didn’t find any thing new.

Leave a Reply

