5 Questions About Books

5 questions about books is back!  Today’s questions were answered by Readers’ Services Librarian Trainee,  Stacey.  Enjoy!

What book are you currently reading?

I am currently reading 7 books at the moment. I’m reading Helen of Troy by Margaret George, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia, The Walking Dead: Book 7 by Robert Kirkman, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami, Emily Post’s Ettiquette by Peggy Post, and The Science of Sin by Simon M. Laham. Although if I was being completely honest I’m really only reading Beautiful Creatures and The Walking Dead since I they are due back soon.

What is one of your favorite childhood books?

That is a tie between Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson and Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown; I used to make my mom read it to me before bedtime.

Have you ever read a book because of the cover?

Yes! I’m guilty of doing that majority of the time. The latest book I read because of that was The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. The cover looked interesting because it’s black, white, and red and very whimsical looking.

Did you ever read a book assigned in school that turned out to be really good?

Yes, and that is one of my favorite books of all time.  It was The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I fell in love with the grandeur of the 1920s. I’m excited that they are making a movie coming out soon based on it, featuring Leonardo DiCaprio and Carey Mulligan.

How or with what do you save your place in a book?

I usually use bookmarks, I collect them. Sometimes if I forget to bring one I’ll use a clean napkin or a piece of paper. If I have nothing to put in the place, I write down what page I left off in my notes on my phone or mark it on GoodReads since they have a progress tracker.

- posted by Sonia, Readers’ Services

1 Comment

Filed under books, General, readers' services

One response to “5 Questions About Books

  1. Christine

    I’m going to check-out Harold and the Purple Crayon for DJ. I’m sure he’ll really enjoy it. – Christine

Leave a Reply

